LSR Hosts The Inter-College Tennis Tournament For Women This Year

- Advertisement -

Lady Shri Ram College of Women hosted the annual Inter College Tennis Tournament for Women this year. Earlier organized between 28th -30th of October, the event had to be extended till 1st  November,2019 as the semi finals were postponed due to bad lighting on the 29th.

The tournament was convened by Dr. Meenakshi Ahuja and the rules of the tournament were made very clear to the teams right since the very first day. The First and the Second round of matches were played best of 13 games to win and from the quarters, the matches were played on the basis of best of 3 full sets. It was a knockout tournament throughout.

- Advertisement -

To further ensure that no hassle came in between the spirit of the game, every match was invigilated by an unbiased and qualified chair umpire who was further assisted by line empires on both the sides.

- Advertisement -

The finals happened on the 1st November between Miranda and LSR (doubles) and the host team came out victorious. Garvita Dutta and Baani Singh won the match 6-2,6-3 against Neeru Rapria and Adrija Biswas and LSR defeated Miranda by a lead of 2-1. The third position was acquired by Gargi college who competed against Indraprastha College for the position.

- Advertisement -

The matches began at 9:00 a.m. everyday and went upto 5:00 pm in the evening, turning the LSR grounds into a competitive sports arena this entire past week.

The matches were quite intensive and every team gave their best shot at winning. The tournament included both the singles and doubles events which worked in the favor of the players. Supporting this, the President of LSR Sports Union, Baani quoted, “The best thing about the event was that we had individual trial event after the Team event, which gave everyone a second chance at winning”.

The Colleges that participated in the Tournament are as follows :
1. Inderprastha College for Women
2. Shri Ram College of Commerce
3. Hansraj College
4. St. Stephens
5. Kalindi
6. Shri Guru Gobind Singh College of Commerce
7. Lady Shri Ram College for Women
8. Gargi College
9. Ramjas
10. Jesus and Mary College
11. Miranda House
13. Sri Venkateswara College
14. Sri Aurobindo College
15. Acharaya Narendra Dev College.

The tournament was completely women centric which worked as a medium for their empowerment. The air of LSR was filled with enthusiasm and excitement as the Young women strived to win with their healthy spirit of sportsmanship intact. The cheering teammates, the supportive hospitality team and the nail biting matches, all were a real sight to watch.

Download the DU Express app on Play Store to stay connected with all the latest admission news and campus news 24×7.Click here to download the app.

Join our Telegram channel today free of cost to get all the latest updates delivered directly on your smartphone.Click here to subscribe to our Telegram channel or search for – @DUExpressIndia on Telegram to join.

- Advertisement -

Similar Articles


Stay Connected


Most Popular

DU Colleges Reopening Soon with Safety Measures

After all security-related arrangements due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the University of Delhi (DU) is going to open soon. DU has issued a guideline...

DU Executive Council And Academic Council Elections, NDTF Nominations

On 23/12/2020, the University of Delhi (DU) released a notification for membership to the Executive Council (EC) and Academic Council (AC). The two are...


This Day in History is DUE's daily dose of trivia for all the history buffs out there. So sit back and take a ride...