Tuesday, July 16, 2024
26 C
New Delhi

Latest Posts

National Sports Awardees’ List 2020 is Out!

- Advertisement -

Considering the monumental performances during the past four years, various sports organizations have sent their recommendations for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awards and Arjuna Award, and the National Sports Awardees’ List 2020 is Out!

Even though the last couple of months have disrupted the worldwide sporting calendar, players have been judged based on their past performances depicting their tenacity, perseverance, and dedication towards their game.

- Advertisement -

Furthermore, with the Sports Ministry of India extending the deadline in the wake of the pandemic, more names could be added to the list. Above all, individuals can also opt for self-nominations owing to the challenges faced due to the dreaded virus.


The National Sports Awards include the Arjuna Award, the Dronacharya Award, the Dhyan Chand Award and above all, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award. The President of India awards the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna to sportspersons at the Rashtrapati Bhavan on August 29. August 29 marks the birth anniversary of hockey wizard Dhyan Chand.

- Advertisement -
Image Source: Google


The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, officially known as Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award in Sports and Games, is the highest sporting honor of the Republic of India. It was first awarded to the Chess Player Vishwanathan Anand.

For Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award 2020, following sportsperson have been recommended: (Source: PTI)

- Advertisement -
  1. Indian cricketer Rohit Sharma
  2. Woman Wrestler Vinesh Phogat
  3. Indian Women’s Hockey team captain Rani Rampal
  4. Woman Table-tennis star Manika Batra
  5. Last but not the least, Rio Paralympic gold-winning high jumper Mariappan Thangavelu
Woman Wrestler Vinesh Phogat (Image Source: Google)

Subsequently, for the very first time, five athletes will receive India’s highest sporting honor.


The Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports gives the Arjuna Awards to recognize outstanding achievements in sports.

Cricketer Ishant Sharma and Male recurve archer Atanu Das are among the 29 sportspersons recommended for the Arjuna award.

Male recurve archer Atanu Das (Image Source: Google)

In addition, women’s hockey team player Deepika Thakur, cricketer Deepak Hooda and tennis player Divij Sharan have been recommended for the award. (Source: PTI)

Read here | IPL will be different this 2020

- Advertisement -

Latest Posts

Don't Miss