Unlock 4: Here’s How Schools Shall Be Reopened in Different States

- Advertisement -

Following the nationwide lockdown since March, schools and colleges which have been shut in the country. This has led to education being completely shifted to the digital realm with the beginning of online lectures. However, with Unlock 4.0, the government has decided to reopen schools in a graded manner from September 21. Under the guidelines released by the Ministry of Home Affairs, students from classes 9 to 12 will now be allowed to visit their schools. Their schools, however, must lie outside containment zones and will be allowed to visit only with their parent’s consent.

“States and union territories (UTs) may permit up to 50 percent of teaching and non-teaching staff to be called to the schools at a time for online teaching/tele-counselling related work in areas outside containment zones only with effect from 21st September 2020 for which SOP will be issued by Ministry of Health and Family Welfare,” the Union Home Ministry said in its guidelines.

- Advertisement -

After the centre’s official guidelines were released, states too which were keen to reopen schools have issued their own set of rules. Here is a state-wise report on all the states:

- Advertisement -

Delhi, Uttar Pradesh and Bihar: Very much like the centre, the state governments has allowed the reopening of schools. Students of classes 9 to 12 are allowed to visit their schools on a voluntary basis.

- Advertisement -

Andhra Pradesh: All schools must be remained closed till September 30. However, students of classes 9 to 12 shall be allowed to visit schools on a voluntary basis.

Haryana: The Manohar Lal Khattar government has decided to run classes on a trial basis. Two schools in the Sonepat district have been chosen for this purpose.

West Bengal: “Schools, colleges and other educational institutes would remain closed in the state till September 20. The other existing restrictions would be in place. There would be complete Lockdown in the state on September 7, 11 and 12″, said Mamata Banerjee.

Assam: “Schools, colleges, educational and coaching institutes for regular class activities shall remain closed till 30th September”, said Chief Secretary of Assam in a notification. Whereas, online classes shall be allowed to continue.

Maharastra: Schools will remain closed till September 30. However, students from the same set of classes shall be allowed to visit schools.

Punjab: a partial reopening of schools shall be allowed.

Download the DU Express app on Play Store to stay connected with all the latest admission news and campus news 24×7.Click here to download the app.

Join our Telegram channel today free of cost to get all the latest updates delivered directly on your smartphone.Click here to subscribe to our Telegram channel or search for – @DUExpressIndia on Telegram to join.

- Advertisement -

Similar Articles


Most Popular

DU has released UG OBE Results for May-June 2020

The University of Delhi has released the scorecards of the Open Book Examinations (OBE) for undergraduate courses. Students can now access their May-June 2020 semester...

DU Admissions 2020: DUSU Alleges Colleges of Denying Admissions To OBC/EWS Candidates

The Delhi University Students Union (DUSU) has alleged the DU admission procedure of denying admission to the students of OBC/EWS quotas. DUSU has claimed...

Contraception and Birth-Control: Myths Debunked!

There are a lot of myths surrounding the topic of contraception. Even though we're sky-rocketing towards being the most populated country in the matter...